App Engine Dev Tips #10 : Disable / Deleting an Application

You would tend to think that Deleting an Application should be a straight forward task via the Admin console but it is not and it shouldn’t be.

One thing to keep in mind before you delete the application: Are you really sure you want to delete the application? Assuming that you have made a conscious decision to delete it, be aware of the fact that once the application is deleted, you will not get back the Application ID. So if you had spent a good amount of time thinking about coming up with a nice and unique Application ID, keep in mind that its gone.

Now that we have got that point out of the way, let us go ahead with deleting the application:

  1. Login to App Engine (http://appengine.google.com) and click on the application that needs to be deleted.
  2. In the Admin Console, click on Administration -> Application Settings.
  3. In the right pane, you will see a Disable or Delete Application section as shown below:Screen Shot 2013-09-29 at 3.35.28 PM
  4. Click on the Disable Application button. This will bring up the screen shown below. If you want to temporarily stop your application, this is the best way to do it. Click on Disable Application Now. 
    Screen Shot 2013-09-29 at 3.37.32 PM
  5. Once you click on Disable Application Now, your application will stop serving requests. You will also be given confirmation of your action via the screenshot below:Screen Shot 2013-09-29 at 3.38.20 PM
  6. If you want to Re-enable it at any time, come back here and click on the Re-enable Application Now.
  7. But if you want to permanently delete the application, then click on the Request Permanent Deletion. Doing so, will mark your application for deletion. App Engine will actually delete your application only after 72 hours. You can revert back the request if you want. You will also get an email indicating that you have marked the application for deletion.Screen Shot 2013-09-29 at 3.37.56 PM
  8. This is a good step by App Engine because you don’t want to regret the deletion action that you have done in haste. Keep in mind that till the Application is actually deleted, the application (whether disabled or in the process of deletion) will still count towards your quota of number of applications (10). Once it is permanently deleted, only then a slot will free up.

Check out all the App Engine Development Tips.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s