The Beauty of Nargol

In the concluding part of my trilogy on Nargol, I would like to cover the natural beauty of Nargol. Along with that I would also like to cover some points about Nargol that make it unique in its own way.

If you have not read my earlier two parts, you can read them here : Part I and Part II.

Before I begin I would like to acknowledge my father-in-law Mr. Sudhir Vaidya, who has kindly provided me with photographs for this post. All the photographs have been captured patiently and with attention to detail. I thank him for that. He also runs an extremely informative website called Spandane and I recommend the site highly.

Let me begin first with a summary of points that I believe make Nargol unique in its own way. This is my own personal opinion and they are listed in no particular order of preference:

  • Nargol is just 145 – 180 kms from Mumbai (depending on where you are located in Mumbai). There are several trains that stop at the nearest rail junction (Sanjan). At most either by train or by car, the journey is a breeze and is about 2-3 hours.
  • Nargol is a sleepy coastal village that is caught in a time warp. This I think is a good thing. Time passes slowly and allows you to reflect.
  • Nature abounds in plenty. So if you are looking for that – you will not be disappointed.
  • It has a beautiful beach (almost secluded) that has not been inhabited by vendors. As a result it is clean and is able to avoid all the ills that has happened to popular beaches when drinks, snacks, panwallahs and pani-puri wallahs take charge.
  • There are no hotel/restaurants in Nargol. Yes you read that right. You either make your own food or order it from several homes at nominal rates.
  • All forms of night life or fun/revelry are absent in this village. This is a positive point in my opinion and it makes sure that you come here for a rejuvenating break indeed and not to tire yourself with partying.
  • The village has a lake that fills itself up during the rainy season.
  • Its narrow winding lanes are perfect to walk amidst lush green surroundings for hours.
  • The realty rates are reasonable too and what you see is what you get.
  • Several interesting places like Daman, Silvassa, etcย are about an hours drive away.

Nargol, I believe is an unknown destination for most folks but a trip to this place is recommended if you simply need a rejuvenating break or have run out of weekend options (especially since most of the others simply cater to mass entertainment appeal).

I leave you with a variety of photographs that illustrate the different areas of Nargol : Its beach (coastline), the lake, sunrise/sunset, the lush greenery and what not.

Hope to catch up with you one day in Nargol. And thanks for reading up this trilogy.

4 thoughts on “The Beauty of Nargol

  1. hey ๐Ÿ™‚ i love these photos! i showed them to my mom and my grandmom and they told me whose houses they were and stuff ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks a lot for posting!
    -anahita havewala (i’m mani parvez panthaki’s daughter’s daughter) ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I have been going to Nargol since 1998. I am not from there, but it has become like a second home to me. It has a beautiful environment, fresh air, the beach, a lake located in the market place, small lanes that lead to various houses where the local folk live, plants, trees, and just about anything you need to vitalize your senses, I have personally befriended many of the local villagers (who are kind, friendly and don’t hesitate to help) and the cute little dogs (who are just plain adorable and like a second family to me).

    Yes, there are so many ruins where Parsi families used to live once. The area is either in dispute or is just lying there torn and tattered since they have no next to kin. That is an unfortunate situation which sadly can’t be helped.

    I personally want Nargol to stay as it is, a quiet seaside village with a slow paced life. Sometimes I worry that if many people populate it, they would make it nothing short of dirty, with litter and garbage. I have been noticing many people throw food packets, plastic plates, spoons, beer cans all over the expanse of the beach. From the once pristine, untouched beaches to the now garbage laden ones, unfortunately Nargol has come a long way from when I just started going there.

    I wish someone writes to the Panchayat and requests them to clean the once spotless village (especially the beach and market side).

    Sorry for the rant. Hehe. Though I am glad that someone spoke of this beautiful village. Thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks for the comments. Yes – we have noticed the deterioration too in terms of the garbage that gets thrown around the area that leads to the beach. A simple cleaning activity undertaken by volunteers once a month or so, might go a long way towards not just keeping it clean but even inculcating some civic sense in the rest of the onlookers. I agree with you that restoring and maintaining some of our quaint villages and their style of living/life is essential rather than just letting it steer itself towards the complete chaos that has gripped much bigger towns/cities across our country.

Leave a Reply

